The Department of Pharmacology is an integral part of the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry at the University of Alberta. We are proud of the excellence of our scientific research and our deep commitment to undergraduate and graduate education. Read a statement on the importance of pharmacology in the post-genomic era, from distinguished alumnus Dr Terry Kenakin.



Departmental News

The Department of Pharmacology will be hosting an Open House on March 22, 2017 from 11:00am - 3:00pm in 9-68 Medical Sciences Building. Come by and talk to our faculty and graduate students about our undergraduate and graduate programs. Free Pizza and Pop!!!

Graduate Student News

Congratulations to the following graduate students on receiving the following awards:

Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research (FGSR) Graduate Student Travel Award

  • Caroline Wang (Dr Harley Kurata)

  • Pharmacology Student Services Award

  • Matthew Hubert (Dr Peter Light)
  • Stephanie Lunn (Dr Frances Plane)
  • Ran Wei (Dr Frances Plane)

  • Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry (FoMD) 75th Anniversary Award

  • Scott Campbell (Dr Peter Light)
  • Ana Cotuneanu (Dr Bradley Kerr)

  • Queen Elizabeth II (QEII) Graudate Scholarship MSc

  • Ana Cotuneanu (Dr Bradley Kerr)

  • Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry (FoMD)/Alberta Health Services (AHS) Award

  • Andrej Roczkowski (Dr Rick Schulz)

  • Stephana Cherak, a graduate student in Pharmacology, has been selected as Editor in Chief for the Alberta Academic Review!

    The Alberta Academic Review (AAR) is a peer-reviewed academic journal located at the University of Alberta, and is a forum for academic debate and discussion on a wide variety of subjects. The AAR seeks to serve as a record of graduate and undergraduate academic work in Alberta, with a focus on work produced by students at the University of Alberta.

    Faculty News

    The Department of Pharmacology is pleased to announce the ​201​7-201​8 McCalla Professorship​ ​recipient: Dr Frances Plane. The McCalla Professorship​s​ recognize our colleagues' ​contributions to student learning as well as their commitment to integrate teaching​ and research ​at the University of Alberta. For more information, please read the latest news on The Quad.

    Dr Basil Hubbard has been named one of 5 new Canada Research Chairs (CRC) in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. The CRC program was designed to attract and retain some of the world’s most accomplished and promising minds. CRC funding will allow our researchers to pursue their groundbreaking research and improve the health of Canadians.

    Congratulations to Dr Patrick MacDonald for becoming one of the 7 recipients of The 2016 Killam Annual Professorship. The award is granted to faculty members based on the quality of their scholarly activities such as teaching, research, publications, creative activities, presented papers, and supervision of graduate students.


    Targeting Intestinal Phospholipid Metabolism As A Treatment For Obesity and Insulin Resistance

    Dr John Kennelly

    Department of Agriculture, Food & Nutrional Science

    University Of Alberta

    Friday, March 24, 2017

    12:00 pm, 9-68 MSB

    Pharmacology Graduate Student Recruitment Award:

    Students with an Honours degree in Pharmacology from the U of A and a GPA of 3.7 or higher are eligible to receive a Pharmacology Graduate Student Recruitment Award on entering our graduate program.

    Social Events:

    Department of Pharmacology Open House

    March 22, 2017

    11:00am - 3:00 pm

    9-68 MSB